calculating lead in gunnery

delta7

apart from the usual suspects like bbloke who use the force to assist in aiming

:starwars:

a few of us ( ME ) have trouble hitting a cow with a banjo at 1 pace apart .

anyway someone suggested I use the gyro gunsight to help and Iv been doing quick mission builder dogfights with this and it had opened my eyes.

I still miss but at least I can accuratly guage how much I miss by normally- no seriously if you use it right then you hit everytime.

how do you use it well there are guides at airwarfare but it really is a 3 step operation

1) go to the control section of il2 and look at

That has stirred my interest in trying that out now too.

Even if it does entail flying a P-51. :sad1:

Its not that bad a plane but does have a sudden snap stall - needs trimmed a lot to keep it fast- but Im only learning how to fly it

Dont forget the .50 cals.. they dont seem to take as much leading as slow wing canons on a zero for instance ;)

very good point - you will need slightly MORE lead for 20mm cannon and even more for 30mm and slow ROF guns, but this will give you a ball park to start with and in my case my perceived lead was at least 1/2 a ring too small in most cases and 1 full ring in high angle off shots.

the big eye opener was how a little back pressure on the stick has a drastic effect when turning and trying to get lead- I now fly with nose trimmed well down

best to keep you Angle off less than 30 degrees where possible to have a chance of hitting.

Anybody ever see a link between their flight sim gunnery and real life shooting skill?

Ummm.... My real life shooting skills are much, much, better.

I think that's one of the reasons my lack of ability to hit anything in the game just frustrates the living crap out of me. :stressederic:

If I can take a bird out of the air with a single .22lr round, why can I not hit a big-ol airplane with a machine gun. :rolleyes:

• 1. DDz Quorum