OK some joystick advice?

DAZZA

Hello, i have to confess flying with you fine gentlemen has given my love of IL2 a second wind. Im increasingly thinking of getting a HOTAS stick.

Last night i was having a great time rocketing down in my P38 to help out our A20 torp guys, my 3d force feedback stick was bouncing all over the place, i was clinging on whilst trying to find the key for dive brakes (there were none, another story!) and as i tried to shoot and failed i thought- maybe i would enjoy a nice smooth and new stick, with precise control

now im not one to brag- but i think i do ok considering my rubbish setup, then again i have been flying for 2 years.

I also think I wont really get any better with the current level of control I have- for one thing I know twist stick rudder is bad for coordinated turns and I know my flying is technically very sloppy.

Now the other problem is my budget, I mean I've got a shiny new credit card but I'm not exactly flush. So in terms of purchases this will be the one and only big one I make.

With this in mind I'm erring towards an X45 from ebay. Two reasons, cheapest hotas and rudder rocker and i heard its a good stick.

My questions to owners of the X45:

Is it worth the money?

Likely to be cool second hand?

Precisely how does the rudder rocker work? My thinking with this is that an X52 would be exactly as bad, since its also twist rudder and theres no way Im getting pedals. Does the rudder rocker remove the gimp handed use that plagues twist sticks? Is it a viable alternative?

Ive got no desk space with all the other crap Ive got, is it feasible to mount it on a bit of wood and stick on my lap?

Anyone made the transition from force feedback to non-force feedback? I really like FF, but to be honest its a detriment when your on the edge of a stall and your stick starts hammering back and forth.